Saturday, September 24, 2016

My culture has always been a big a part of my life. My mom being born in Mexico and raising me here is somewhat of a struggle. Since my mom speaks Spanish and hasn't learned English it's hard for the both of us because there I are I'd like to tell her something but don't know how to explain it. My mom prefers my sister and I speaking Spanish in the house but we mostly speak English to each other. It's really disappointing that I'm actually not good with speaking Spanish because I'm so used to speaking English all the time and I even speak English to my mom. There are times when I just can't say what I want to say in Spanish so I just say it English. Then again it's okay because it also helps my mom learn a lot more English because she's very good at understanding it. I'm proud to be Mexican though and to do all the things I can. I'm happy that Spanish is my first language(even though I'm not good) and speaking two languages in general.

About Me!

Hi, my name is Carolina and I'm 15 years old. I was born in San Jose, California on February 9th, 2001. I lived there for most of my life until a year ago. A year ago my mom decided she wanted to move is to Humboldt after we had visited my aunt for her birthday. It was hard moving here and leaving my friends that's I've known all my life. Coming here was also hard because my sister and I didn't know the area and didn't know what we could do for fun. Out in San Jose there was a lot of things to keep us busy. We were also really disappointed to see that a lot of the things that are out there weren't here like stores and such. Then again I'm really happy to know the people that I've met here. Also, really happy that my mom enjoys living here and being closer to her sister.